15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 https://closedcap.com 300 0

El-P Begins Reissuing Solo Catalog on Fat Possum


For a good while, we were closely following the solo career of El-P. Half of the hip hop power duo Run The Jewels, El-P has always created enigmatic beats and had a sound that was on another level. Now after years out of print, El-P is reissuing his entire solo catalogue through Fat Possum Records. Jumping things off is his 2007 release I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead.


While the details of the physical drop hasn’t been made available yet, the album is available to stream for the first time in a long time. The album features contributions fro the late great Ikey Owens as well as James McNew of legendary indie rock trio Yo LA Tengo. Of the thirteen tracks, there’s a forward sound even by today’s standards. In many ways it’s hard to believe the tracks are twelve years old. El-P drops science on songs like “Tasmanian Pain  Coaster” and “Run the Numbers.” While songs like “Up All Night” and “No Kings” come at your ears like a heart attack.

I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead is available to stream on all streaming sites. It can also be purchased digitally in all store fronts or directly from Fat Possum Records via Bandcamp. El-P does not have any scheduled tour dates at this time.

Image Credits: Photo Courtesy of Fat Possum Records.



Leave a Reply