15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 https://closedcap.com 300 0

Belle and Sebastian Announce Double Live Album & Share New Videos


Glasgow’s Belle and Sebastian have always evoked passion from anyone who’s caught them in person. Between the band’s early years and today, not only have they grown their sound but their live sets have become more like a mix between celebration and emotive exercise in joy. Now the band is making those experiences easier to behold with the announcement of a new double live album What to Look For In Summer. To mark the occasion, the band has released two live tracks with whimsical videos for both.

The way the band intermingles with the audience here is mesmerizing. The video shows the band in their own lock downs due to the pandemic. However the joy from the audience and the enjoyment in playing “The Boy With The Arab Strap” live comes through in every moment here.

For the live version of “My Wandering Days Are Over,” the band keeps that enjoyment while echoing the energy of the crowd back at them. Where the video here is more of a film of two people, the live version shows off what the band does best which is perform.

What To Look For In Summer Track List

  1. The Song of The Clyde £ >
  2. Dirty Dream Number Two *
  3. Step Into My Office, Baby *
  4. We Were Beautiful +
  5. Seeing Other People %
  6. If She Wants Me @
  7. Beyond The Sunrise &
  8. Wrapped Up In Books +
  9. Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John $
  10. Nice Day For A Sulk (digital only) #
  11. I Can See Your Future *
  12. Funny Little Frog ^
  13. The Fox In The Snow+
  14. If You’re Feeling Sinister*
  15. My Wandering Days Are Over*
  16. The Wrong Girl #
  17. Stay Loose%
  18. The Boy Done Wrong Again #
  19. Poor Boy%
  20. Dog On Wheels%
  21. The Boy With The Arab Strap+
  22. I Didn’t See It Coming+
  23. Belle And Sebastian #

£ recorded Banchory Studios, Glasgow, August 6th, 2020 (digital version)

> recorded by Kenneth McKellar (vinyl + CD versions)

* The Boaty Weekender, August 10th, 2019

+ Royal Oak Theatre, Michigan, July 21st, 2019

% Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA, July 12th, 2019

# House Of Blues, Boston, MA, July 13th, 2019

 ^ M-Telus, Montreal, QC, July 15th, 2019

@ Carnegie Hall – Pittsburgh, PA, July 18th, 2019

 & House Of Blues, Cleveland, OH, July 19th, 2019

$ Auditoria Baluarte, Pamplona, Barcelona, November 4th, 2019

The album is available to preorder from Matador Records ahead of its December 11 release date. It will also be made available in digital form and to stream on all services.

Image Credits: Photo by Will Byington.

David Garrick

David Garrick has spent the last five years interviewing some of the most intriguing and engaging artists performing today. Everyone from Angel Olsen to Phoebe Bridgers, Wire to Yo La Tengo, Snail Mail to Soccer Mommy, Ghost to First Aid Kit, The Breeders to Protomartyr, and many more. He's a giant fan of music of pretty much any genre; but especially to the underdogs. He's been known to see more concerts in a week than many people will see in a year.


Leave a Reply